This is a standard response for successful HTTP requests. Seeing a 200 code in your auditing tools is a good thing.
When a website is redesigned or specific web pages and their URL are updated. Pre-existing traffic from the existing URL will permanently redirect to the new URL.
A temporary redirect from one URL to another. This does not transfer page power as a 301 does, but it still preserves traffic if a page has to come down temporarily.
When a URL cannot be found, a 404 Error message is shown. If it's necessary to remove a page, a 404 redirect will indicate the page is no longer in existence.
A 410 code tells the crawlers this page no longer exists and will not be returning. If you are going to be permanently deleting content on your site, it's best to use 410 codes.
All 500-level error codes are related to server-level errors. There could be a bad gateway (502), a Server outage (503), or a host of other server-related issues.
A frequent testing method by which you design two versions of your creative piece - for example, a photo, a landing page, or an image to test which one creates a better audience response. When creating the two versions, a best practice is to only make one change at a time between the two versions so you can hone in on your audience's responses.
Above the fold
The origins of this term refer back to newsprint days - when above the fold meant the story was on the top half of the newspaper. Today it means your video, call to action, or any relevant forms are easily seen by a user with no scrolling because the placement is above the bottom cut off of the screen before you scroll.
This is often used for the term CPA, meaning the cost per acquisition or sale.
A paid method of reaching potential customers in various ways, including email, web, phone, or print. Ads are a paid method - in digital marketing, the goal is to use content and images to persuade a user to click through to the website.
A marketplace using bidding and real-time auctions for buying and selling ads.
When users are overexposed to the same ad and it results in fewer clicks and conversions. People tire of seeing the same ads repeatedly, so advertisers will gauge ad exposure to decide when to refresh an ad campaign for a positive experience. Ad fatigue happens when Ad Frequency is high, meaning people have seen the ads several times.
In a pay-per-click account, there are subcategories aiming at a specific group of keywords. Often thematically organized to support a campaign.
A grade that establishes the position of your ad relative to other ads. Google uses a formula to calculate Ad Rank = Max CPC Bid x Quality Score. Increase either component to increase your ad rank and resulting impression share.
A complex set of rules guiding search engines and ad platforms to select what ad a user is exposed to. Algorithms are created from various factors, including keyword bidding, landing page quality score, site optimization, and others.
Alternative text informs a user or a Google Bot what an image is of. This is done via tagging the image in HTML. SEO benefits are derived from good alt-text as it gives Google another tool for seeing website content and provides an additional way for viewers to find websites by searching for relevant keywords.
Clickable, blue underlined text used to link a reader from one site to another. A common method used to improve the linking within a website or to improve internal linking structure.
The acronym for Application Programming Interface. An intermediary software allowing two different applications to communicate with each other. It opens up access to a limited part of the software so developers can use it. The developer helps others extend the functionality of their app or provide previously inaccessible information.
Determining which touchpoint of the marketing funnel is most responsible for a conversion. Frequently, multiple advertising methods might reach a customer before they decide to make a purchase. Attribution recognizes the marketing methods that should "get credit" for the conversion.
An attribution window is the number of days between a person viewing your ad and subsequently taking action. We measure ad actions based on clicks and views of your ad.
The target demographic you want to convert. The audience can vary depending on the channel, content, or services. It's typical for an advertiser to have multiple audiences.
A full analysis of the performance of a website. This gives the company an in-depth understanding of their website, what areas are succeeding, and where you need improvement for SEO purposes. "We are completing a CRO audit, "would mean your team is looking for ways to increase the conversion rate or optimize conversion rate.
B2B, B2C, and B2G
Business to Business (B2B), Business to Consumer (B2C), and Business to Government (B2G) - Marketing terms indicating who you're doing business with.
A hyperlink in one website to another. Having good backlinks can improve your website's performance and searchability from a search engine. When one site provides a link to another website, they are, in effect, endorsing the other site and giving them "juice." When these links come from reputable locations, like a .gov, .org, or well-known company, the power for that website grows.
The price a marketer will pay to show their ad. Used in pay-per-click advertising, this often refers to keyword bidding and the amount an advertiser will place on a keyword so Google will consider them in their algorithm. For example, in LinkedIn, the bidding is how much you are willing to spend on a click to be competitive at auction.
The amount you can spend on ads before the social media platform advertising manager charges you. Whenever your ad costs reach your billing threshold amount, the credit card on the account will be charged for that amount.
A platform for SEM where users can manage their pay-per-click advertisements on Yahoo! and Bing. It is the Microsoft alternative to Google AdWords.
A series of pages on a website containing informational posts. They are designed to grab the attention of someone interested in that subject. Digital marketers recommend blog posts to increase traffic to a company's website by providing information about that service or industry.
Bottom of funnel. In the marketing world, the bottom of the funnel is where you'll retarget highly interested audiences who did not convert into leads earlier. It's essential to vary your offers or creative because customers get irritated when they see the same ad repeatedly, and then you'll see low conversion rates. The bottom of the funnel provides the hottest leads.
Sometimes called a 'Googlebot' or 'Spider,' a bot is a web crawler that discovers pages or websites that are new or updated. As a user searches, Google's bot will crawl the internet to find the most relevant results for the user's query.
The percentage of viewers who exit a site after only seeing one page without navigating to other pages. Understanding bounce rate clarifies user interest and is often used to determine what website area should be optimized.
Bounce rate in email marketing
When you can't reach a recipient in your email campaign, the email gets "bounced" back to you with notification of the status. The bounce rate is the actual percentage of emails that bounce back.
Often categorized as the monthly allocation of spending the client wants to provide.
A marketing team will create a buyer persona to describe your potential customers. Included in the persona will be demographics such as gender, age, and interests. A persona is not random demographics - it's created using research on your target market so that you have a big picture of your customer's goals, behaviors, and purchasing motivations.
C2C and C2B
Consumer to Consumer (C2C) and Consumer to Business (C2B) - Marketing terms indicating who you're doing business with. An example of a C2B business is when a consumer provides value to a business via referral, testimonials, or data sharing.
CAC or Customer Acquisition Cost
The total cost to bring in a customer. It is a total of all your marketing and sales costs per customer and includes such costs as paying for designers or writers to prepare a campaign. A common goal is to have your CAC be approximately one-third of your CLV.
A Top-level category with one or more ad groups for a PPC account. Multiple campaigns can be divided up by services or products, competitors, or branded.
Advertisers choose various marketing channels to reach their audience. The most common ones are Email, Google, Organic, Paid, and different Social Media channels such as Facebook, Instagram, & Twitter.
Clicks or Ad Click
A marketing metric that counts how many times a user has clicked on an ad.
CLV or Customer Lifetime Value
The amount of profit on each purchase multiplied by the number of purchases an average customer makes per year multiplied by the customer's lifespan. So, if a company earns $12 in profit for each purchase, the average customer makes 3 purchases per year, and that same average customer lasts five years, the CLV is $180 ($12 x 3 x 5).
CMS or Content Management System
A software package or system designed to organize and manage digital content on a website. WordPress, Wix, and Squarespace are examples of these systems. See also WCM.
A page, window, or section of a website that users can fill out to communicate with the website owner. Most forms contain fields to collect names, phone numbers, email addresses, and comments. Contact forms are becoming a necessary design element for all up-to-date websites.
Images, videos, written materials including web page copy, blogs, articles, advertisements, social media posts – anything online that users will see with the goal of getting the user to interact with that information.
Conversions API is a Meta Business Tool designed to connect your marketing data to the Meta technologies, reducing cost per action, optimizing ad targeting, and measuring results across Meta technologies. Your marketing data is used to display ads only to your target audience.
When a user clicks on an ad, downloads a document, browses further within the website, or any other action the website owner counts as a conversion. Conversion marketing examines how customers interact with websites and then design content and ads to increase their conversion rate.
A piece of code stored on the user's browser to track how they interact with the site and store user information. These cookies can be temporary or permanent and can be cleared by the user. The website owner compiles information from these cookies to market back to the user or provide a smoother/faster website experience for the user the next time.
Copy or Ad Copy
The headlines and text associated with content.
CPA or Cost per Acquisition
The amount of money spent on acquiring one new lead or customer per campaign. This campaign may be confined to one channel or across multiple media channels. It includes not just the cost of advertising but also developing and creating the campaign. For example, if a campaign spend was $1000 and it resulted in 20 conversions, the cost per acquisition is $50 ($1000/20).
CPC or Cost per Click
The cost of the ad divided by the number of clicks on that ad. If an ad was clicked on 200 times and cost $400 to place, the cost per click is $2 ($400/200).
CPL or Cost per Lead
The cost of the ad divided by the number of sales leads that are generated. If the ad spend is $750 and generates 100 leads, the CPL is $7.50 ($750/100).
CPM or Cost per Thousand
The cost of 1000 impressions of an ad. If a company spends $1000 for 4000 impressions (or 4 - 1000s), the CPM is $250 ($1000/4).
Crawl or Crawling
Using an automated program to index data on web pages so they can be returned in search results. They gather information about each page, such as meta tags and copy, then store the page in an index so search engines can find them later and rank for users.
The general marketing term for the creative aspect of content marketing. It is the concept, design, and artwork that goes into an ad or website, communicating a theme to a target audience and getting them to perform an action.
CRM or Customer Relationship Management
A technology that helps you manage customer relationships, track marketing and sales leads, and analyze data for compensation models, forecasting, product innovation, and other customer service activities.
CTA or Call to Action
The phrase used to tell the reader what action to take. Popular examples include terms such as "Contact Us," "Buy Here," "Download," or "Call Today."
CTR or Click Through Rate
The number of times an ad is clicked on, divided by the number of times that same ad is seen. Click Through Rates can measure how successful your ad campaign has been in grabbing the user's attention. The higher the CTR, the more relevant the ad is to that audience, implying that you are reaching your target audience.
CVR or Conversion Rate
The number of conversions a website owner counts divided by the number of clicks on the triggering content. For example, if an ad is clicked on 400 times, but only 100 users then add that item to their cart from that ad, the conversion rate is 25% (100/400).
A place where relevant metrics are presented in an at-a-glance format. The Google Analytics dashboard tracks advertisement statistics over a period and offers a simple picture of how users interact with the campaign or the website as a whole.
The statistics of a population are generally broken down into categories such as age, gender, ethnicity, employment status, income, and location. These statistics provide a broad understanding of the public to fine-tune strategic business and marketing plans, often by targeting advertisements toward one or more demographics.
The individual ads appearing on web pages, including social media, often in the form of banners, images, videos, animations, or slideshows.
Advertising that is generally shown on any digital platform, including web pages and social media platforms like Instagram or Facebook. The advertising may include text, images, or videos and usually contains a URL that links to a consumer site.
A network of sites that show display ads on their web pages. These ads may appear nearby or within related content. Display networks have a lower conversion rate but also have a lower cost per click.
DKI or Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Dynamic content is content that changes based on who is viewing it. DKI uses a special piece of code to update the content to match the customer's related keyword.
DMP or Data Management Platform
A software system that stores, manages, and analyzes data for marketing and advertising campaigns.
The default setting for a hyperlink that does not have a NoFollow tag. DoFollow backlinks improve page rank and rank higher for multiple keywords.
A score of 1-100, measuring a domain's SEO weight in search engine terms. The higher the score, the more authoritative the domain.
Domain or Domain Name
The part of the URL that signifies the owner of the host or web server. For example, in the URL www.romainberg.com/services, romainberg.com is the domain name.
DSP or Demand Side Platform
Automated software systems through which advertisers manage their ad accounts, e.g., Google Ad Manager.
Ecommerce or E-Commerce
Businesses that are conducted online. The most common form is an online retailer that sells products directly to consumers (B2C) but also includes B2B, B2G, C2C, and C2B.
A list of email addresses specifically for use in targeted marketing campaigns. Email lists can be generated by users who subscribe or opt-in to content or by completing a purchase which includes providing their information. Beware of email list fatigue which occurs when subscribers stop engaging with your emailed content.
A targeted marketing campaign used to promote your business via electronic mail. Generally thought of as a way to send ads, request business, or obtain sales, it can also be any message sent to build loyalty or brand awareness.
A social media metric indicating how well users interact with your post. It is the sum of Likes, Comments, and Shares divided by the Total Number of Followers, displayed as a percentage. Search engines will view you as a notable source for your industry if you have a high engagement rate.
Facebook Ads Manager
A tool for creating ads, setting when and how they will appear, and tracking ad performance. These ads can be run on Facebook, Messenger, Instagram, or the Facebook Audience Network.
Paid advertising to reach a specific audience via Facebook. Paid ads can be placed directly into mobile and desktop feeds and targets specific user characteristics. Less precise targeting is available with an ad in the right-hand column of a Facebook page. You can obtain additional ad space via audience network placements or on Instagram (owned by Facebook).
Facebook Business Page
A Facebook page typically represents public figures, businesses, or organizations. Pages have similar functionality as Profiles; however, pages have Followers instead of Friends. Pages also have access to Facebook Ads Manager and other customized features.
An account for an individual to share photos, posts, etc., and provide personal information.
A summary of information that Google gathers from a website and displays at the top of the results page as its best answer to the user's query. The snippet usually contains the page title, URL, and an image from the page that Google has determined best answers the question.
When a user fills out a contact form on a website. The website owner generally counts it as a conversion.
An advertising metric counting the average number of times one person has seen an ad. A high frequency can result in ad fatigue causing the user to form an unfavorable impression of the brand or product.
Pay-per-click (PPC) advertising for a relatively small investment that may utilize Google's Search Network, Google's Display Network, or both, depending upon the options you choose.
A free tool provided by Google, which collects data and organizes it into reports showing how users interact with websites.
GSC or Google Search Console
A free Google tool previously known as Webmaster Tools. It displays key metrics regarding how a website is being crawled, indexed, and performs within Google search results.
GTM or Google Tag Manager
A Google product that works with Google Analytics. It is a system for easily adding, changing, or updating tags without editing the website code.
More commonly referred to as header tags or HTML tags, these are code telling the web browser how the text should be displayed. They are categorized from H1 to H6, with H1 for titles and the remainder applied to subsequent subheadings. Beyond aesthetics, search engine crawlers use these header tags to gather information about the webpage quickly.
The "#" symbol used at the beginning of a phrase to tag content for other social media users to find in a singular place.
The top section of a website containing the logo, menu, or other important information about the page.
Code placed in the header section of a website that is accessible across all site pages. It typically contains items like meta title and description, Adwords Code, and style options.
see H Tags.
A graphical representation indicating how users interact with a website. It maps out where users click, scroll, or demonstrate other interactive behaviors.
HTML or Hypertext Markup Language
Link, for short, is a piece of HTML code, usually connected to an icon, graphic, or underlined phrase, that connects to another webpage or resource.
The number of times your ad shows up in front of a user. The user may not actually interact or even view the ad, but it was on the screen. An impression could be counted multiple times if the same person was present while the ad was displayed at different times.
Inbound links are hyperlinks from a site outside of your website and are the opposite of outbound links. Inbound links are important because search engines use them as part of determining your site's ranking. They are often viewed as free advertising but can be detrimental to your reputation depending upon the quality of the originating site.
A term currently used interchangeably with "SEO." It is simply the process of helping users find your business/website. In addition to bringing customers to your website, it is also used to educate and build trust about your products and brand.
A list of data obtained by crawlers and bots, organized so it can be quickly reviewed by a search engine. The data collected includes keywords, metadata, and other information about each item in the list.
The process of collecting and organizing data obtained by crawlers and bots and arranged into an index. The index created is then used to rank the pages.
"IP" stands for Internet Protocol, and the address is a series of unique numbers and periods. Each IP address represents a networked device. Static IP addresses are permanent values assigned to a device. Dynamic IP addresses pull from a pool shared among computers and are assigned each time a computer accesses the internet. You can find the IP address of your device by searching "what is my IP address."
IS or Impression Share
The number of impressions your ad had divided by the number of eligible impressions it could have had. Eligible impressions are those with a particular ad tag that Google's servers have acknowledged. If your ad had 10,000 impressions but could have had 50,000 impressions, your Impression Share is 20% (10,000/50,000).
A word a user searches for and one that describes the central theme of the content on a website page or post.
A group of two or more keywords. Keyword phrases can help narrow down search results or better define your inquiry.
The process of determining what terms and phrases users frequently search for as they relate to your website and content. Using those keywords can help your business rank higher in searches.
Using a keyword superfluously in a body of text in an effort to rank for that keyword. The placement may even appear random and out of context. This is an out-of-date practice that Google discourages by lowering SEO scores when caught.
KPI or Key Performance Indicator
Any important metric used by a business or business function to measure its success. Marketing examples include New Customers, Return on Ad Spend (ROAS), and Cost per Acquisition (CPA).
A stand alone web page designed to get information from a lead, often via a contact form. The user often gets to a landing page via a link on a PPC ad. The landing page design and content are formed to target a particular group of traffic to convert a higher percentage into valuable leads.
The first day a website, ad, campaign, or other marketing strategy goes live on the internet and is available for the general public to view.
A potential customer in the sales funnel—any person or business with the intention of purchasing from or engaging with your business. See MQL and SQL for definitions of qualified leads.
The process of creating interest in your product, service, or business with the goal of obtaining leads. Two steps in the lead generation process include getting prospects to your website and then getting those prospects to share their contact information.
An incentive offered to prospects in exchange for their contact information. These incentives typically include free checklists, white papers, ebooks, access to additional content, etc.
See "hyperlink." Internal links point to pages on the same website, while external links connect to a different site.
A compilation of all links pointing to a particular website. If many of the links are from sites with questionable reputations, dubious content, or are spammy, they can affect how a site is rated based on trust, subject matter, and content. Links from reputable sources and strong content providers will improve rankings.
A Facebook service that creates a subset of users similar in demographics, occupations, and interests to those of your existing customer base or defined ideal customer. The goal is to optimize your ad spend by expanding your reach to a new audience while at the same time limiting that audience to those with proven engagement characteristics.
A discipline that uses statistics, machine learning, and predictive modeling to interpret user behavior and report the results in a qualitative manner that can be presented objectively. Marketing analytics aims to determine how well your current efforts are working and what to do differently.
The process of using technology to automate manual, repetitive tasks like sending emails, text messages, or social media posts. The goal of automation is to simplify time-consuming tasks leaving you free to work on strategy and other important tasks. There are many marketing automation software applications, including Mailchimp, SharpSpring, and HubSpot.
The kind of traffic being driven to a website, such as organic traffic generated by search engines. Other mediums include direct, PPC, email, social, and referral.
A short description of a web page's contents. It may appear in search engine results but not exist verbatim on the page. The purpose of the meta description is to include keywords for ranking and displaying information to get the user to click through to the actual page.
The meta title is similar to the meta description in that it should also include the keyword but is an even briefer summary of the content. If done correctly, search engines will read the title first and continue to the description if the page is deemed relevant to the search.
Often referred to as meta tags, is data that describes other data. These tags may include the purpose of the data, a creation timestamp, file sizes, the source, and additional information, making it easier to work with the original data.
An online search conducted via smartphones or other mobile devices. Mobile searches are assumed to be looking for localized and simpler search results than those performed on a desktop. Mobile SEO and desktop SEO rankings differ due to device performance and user intent and, therefore, may need separate strategies.
MQL or Marketing Qualified Lead
A prospective customer who has shown an interest in your product and service through a contact form or some other marketing tool or strategy.
Typically, an online document or email sent to customers containing news, tips, insights, brand or product information, industry happenings, etc. The newsletters can be free or for sale. Access to newsletters is often used to gather contact information and can be used as a lead magnet.
A smaller, specialized segment of a broader market defined by unique characteristics and unmet demands. Members of a particular niche might share demographics, interests, disposable income, values, location, consumer preferences, etc. For example, a niche may consist of women of a certain age, in remote locations, with no access to a particular in-person service that you could fulfill via delivery or an online experience.
An HTML markup, or tag, added to a hyperlink that tells the search engine to ignore that link. This tag does not affect the functionality of the link but generally doesn't help your search engine ranking. The NoFollow tag was created to deter spammers from filling comment sections with links back to their sites.
Promoting an organization's cause to attract volunteers and donors. The strategy may or may not include selling products or services to raise funds. The tactics and strategies used can be similar to for-profit companies but often differ due to smaller budgets and a better-defined mission.
A marketing offer is typically a product or service that is free or deeply discounted, given in exchange for completing a CTA, such as providing contact information. These offers may be similar to lead magnets.
OG or Open Graph Tag
OG meta tags provide information to social media, such as Facebook, indicating how you want that information displayed. The most common tags include description, image, site name, title, type, and URL.
The first section after the headline, consisting of 1-3 sentences. It should engage the reader and encourage them to move down the page.
A form of consent given willingly by providing some information, indicating an interest in an offer, and consent to receiving messaging.
Users that reach your website based on unpaid search results. The goal of SEO optimization is to increase organic traffic.
The opposite of inbound links, outbound links are hyperlinks to a site outside of your website. There are two types of outbound links - see NoFollow and DoFollow. DoFollow is standard and lets search engines start to recognize you as an authority for that resource.
The rate at which the content for a web page loads. Page speed affects ranking because it limits the number of pages that can be crawled within the allocated crawl time. It also leads to a higher bounce rate as users are impatient and abandon the page.
The number of times a request is made to load a single HTML page. There is no segmentation between new viewers or returning viewers. Page Views is a common metric used for marketing analytics.
Paid Search Traffic
Customers that visit your website by coming through paid advertising such as PPC Advertising or banner advertisements. This paid advertising may reside on web pages, social media platforms, and other media networks.
An HTML code snippet loaded when a user visits a website or opens an email and is used to track actions taken by the user. They function similar to a cookie but cannot be blocked by normal browsers. The data gathered allows you to monitor conversions, optimize ads, and retarget previous visitors.
PPC or Pay-Per-Click Advertising
A digital advertising model that charges the advertiser only when a user clicks on the ad.
Using artificial intelligence to automate the ad sale and purchasing process. Programmatic advertising can take the guesswork out of targeting your most relevant users and maximize your budget.
A marketing method that creates demand for a product, thus pulling the consumer to the source. Digital marketing capitalizes on this method through SEO and social media's word-of-mouth effect.
Considered to be a more traditional marketing approach that pushes the product in front of the customer by using wide-reaching advertising methods such as television ads, coupons, and direct mail.
A score indicating how closely related an ad and landing page are to the keywords. Higher Quality Scores can increase the number of times it is displayed and at a lower cost.
The words or phrases typed into a search engine, also referred to as a search term, and the keywords digital marketing is often trying to optimize around.
An estimate of the number of potential customers you can touch with a given marketing campaign. There are formulas to help calculate reach, but luckily, marketing analytics features like those associated with Google Adwords will do all the work.
Sometimes interchanged with retargeting but is confined to email or phone campaigns. Remarketing aims to re-engage customers who have already done business with you. Typical remarketing techniques include reminding customers they have abandoned products in their cart, introducing or promoting products similar to previous purchases, and offering discounts to dormant customers.
A digital marketing strategy of displaying advertisements to previous visitors to your website that have not made a purchase. Tracking cookies may have captured information regarding products they viewed or even abandoned in their cart, allowing you to retarget them with customized ads.
RLSA or Remarketing Lists for Search Ads
A list of users who have previously visited your site without performing the desired action (e.g., making a purchase). This list allows you to take several next steps. You could show a different ad for the same product as users continue their search. You can also bid on different keywords that might then return your site in the user's search results again.
ROAS or Return on Ad Spend
The ratio of revenue generated to advertising costs. If you spend $10,000 on advertising and generate $40,000 in revenue, your ROAS is 4:1 or 400% ($40k/$10K). ROAS does not take into account other costs associated with the ad spend. See ROI for an additional metric.
ROI or Return on Investment
The ratio of profit to expenses. This calculation differs from ROAS as it includes all expenses and not just the funds spent on the advertising itself. If a company spends $1,000 on advertising, $1000 on product samples, and $500 for a booth space at a convention and makes $4,000 in sales, the ROI is 60% (($4K-($1K+$1K+$500))/($1K+$1K+$500)).
RTB or Real-time Bidding
When an ad gets bought or sold using programmatic advertising on a per-impression basis at the time of viewing (i.e., in real-time).
A marketing metaphor becoming somewhat outdated with rapid changes in the digital sales environment. Traditional stages, funneling prospective customers from top to bottom, were Awareness, Interest, Desire, and Action.
A program that examines an index of information available on the internet and returns results that best match the searcher's input. The results can be organic or paid listings. The list of results is referred to as a search engine results page or SERP.
Search Lost IS
The impression share lost because your ad was not displayed due to its ad rank. If impressions share is the percent of time your ad was displayed out of all eligible impressions, then search lost IS is the percent of time your ad was not displayed.
SEM or Search Engine Marketing
A phrase sometimes limited to only paid search activities. More generally, it refers to any digital marketing via paid advertising or SEO that increases your website's visibility on SERPs.
SEO or Search Engine Optimization
Improving the ranking of an online presence by increasing the amount and quality of organic traffic your website receives via search engine results. This optimization is usually obtained by using relevant keywords, correctly structured web pages, and user-friendly URLs.
SERP or Search Engine Results Page
The list of results returned after a user submits a query. Results usually include a mix of organic listings and paid search and PPC ads.
Session Duration or Time on Site
The amount of time a user spends interacting with a website for any given session.
The activities of a user interacting with a website, and those activities may include leaving and returning to the site. A session ends if the user has been inactive for 30 minutes, it is the start of a new day (all sessions end at midnight and a new one starts - though, this is changing with GA4), or if the user arrives at the site via one ad campaign and returns via another, the first session ends.
SIS or Search Impression Share
See Impression Share.
A list of a website's pages in a structured format. Designers use sitemaps during the planning of a website. Individual users may view them for navigational purposes. Sitemaps or XML Sitemaps are formatted listings used by web crawlers to evaluate the site's relevance for ranking quickly.
Another name for a crawler or a bot. An automated program that indexes data on web pages to return search results.
SQL or Sales Qualified Lead
An interested person that Sales have determined to have a high probability of converting to an actual customer. This is often done by determining the customer's need, timing, budget, and authority to make the purchasing decision.
SSP or Supply-side Platform
Software systems that allow publishers to manage their available ad inventory.
A bit of HTML code which communicates to a web browser how to display the element to which it is attached.
A keyword or phrase associated with an item, such as a blog, to aid in classification of the information. Often the tag is a link to a page listing all associated posts.
An automated action attached to a tag that occurs when a user completes an action such as clicking a button on a website. The tag manager software then determines what kind of click occurred and if it was the right kind of click to forward to the analytics software.
UGC or User Generated Content
Any content produced by the website users versus the company behind the website. UGC increases engagement when a combination of professional and user-generated content is used.
UI or User Interface
The audio and visual elements on an electronic device as they sound/appear to the user. A good UI should be easy for people to understand and enhance their user experience. Accessibility of UIs is a growing focus to ensure that those outside the "typical" user persona can still access a site's functionality.
A count of the number of new or returning visitors to a website that are counted once per time period. Visitors are tracked by their IP addresses, so someone returning multiple times to the site will only be counted once for this metric. Analytical programs also filter out spiders, crawlers, and bots to ensure only humans (and keyboard savvy cats) are counted.
URL or Uniform Resource Locator
A series of numbers, letters, periods, and slashes that represent the online address of a web page.
The use of Urchin Traffic Monitor Parameters to follow behaviors associated with specific marketing campaigns and help you track sales volume to a source. Different parameter variants allow you to track various performance elements of a campaign or content. You can use UTM tracking with email and social media posts, as well as web pages.
UX or User Experience
How a user interacts with the UI and their positive or negative reaction to it. Some features needed for a positive UX include useful content, a site that is easily navigated, the information provided appears credible, and the content is accessible to typical and atypical users.
A brief statement describing the benefits your product or service offers a customer.
The feature you change in your A/B testing to determine how a user's response will differ. Variables may include font, images, colors, specific copy, layout, or timing.
When a piece of online content evokes strong enough emotions to spur users to share it with others at a pace much more rapid than other similar content. There is no set quantity or metric by platform that determines the "viral" status.
The number of times a user comes to a web page and interacts for a specified time. See Sessions.
WCM or Web Content Management System
The expansion of the CMS to a more robust system across multiple channels such as mobile apps, social media, email, and websites.
A single document written in HTML so it can be read by web browsers and usually accessed by anyone.
A seminar conducted virtually on the internet. They may consist of web-based video conferencing, videos, slide presentations, and other presentation methods for training, sharing information, answering questions, etc.
A collection of web pages that share a common domain name.
XML or Extensible Markup Language
Similar to HTML, it is a coding language designed to store and transfer data primarily used to categorize the data. It does not contain presentation information and is often used in conjunction with HTML.
A video-sharing website that is now part of the Google ad network. YouTube also offers paid advertising which can be created and run through Google Adwords.